A recent Fox News report detailed a serious injury of an unbelted passenger in a head-on collision in Cobb County. In the Peachtree State, “click it or ticket” signs are familiar sights. These signs are powerful reminders to wear seat belts to avoid tickets and help prevent serious injuries.
Buckle Up is the Law in Georgia
The Georgia seat belt law, O.C.G.A. § 40-8-76.1, requires every person in the front of a passenger vehicle to wear seat belts. In Georgia, the law distinguishes who must wear a seat belt in the back seat. Passengers over 18 years old are not required to wear a seat belt in the back seat. Children between the ages of 8 and 15 are required to wear a seat belt in the front or back seat of the vehicle.
The law now includes pickup trucks, cars, vans, and sport utility vehicles.
The law has specific exemptions for individuals who are using a truck for normal farming activities. Exemptions are included for different activities, such as for people who have written doctor’s notes, emergency vehicles, and newspaper deliveries. Further exemptions apply to people operating a passenger vehicle in reverse, driving a vehicle model before 1965, and performing duties as a rural letter carrier of the United States Post Office.
A seat belt violation is an offense that can win you a ticket. Wearing a seat belt helps protect your life, keep your family safe, and helps prevent serious injuries.
Discussing your questions with an experienced Marietta personal injury lawyer might make sense if you have been in a car accident.
Reporting an Accident
Georgia Code section 40-6-273 requires drivers to report any vehicle accident that results in injury to or death of any person. Drivers must report accidents that result in property damage of $500 or more.
The driver must report an accident to the local police department if the incident occurred within the town or city. If the incident occurred outside, the driver must report the crash to the sheriff or state police.
The guidelines are specific about the timing. By law, drivers must report the incident immediately by the quickest means of communication.
What to Do After An Accident in Cobb County
If you have been involved in a car crash, stay calm. Do not leave the scene.
Check for injuries. Call 911. Seek immediate medical attention. If you do not have medical training, wait for first responders. Do not try to provide medical assistance you are not trained to offer.
Call the police. Notify the local authorities. When speaking with police, share the details that you are aware of, get the name and badge number of the police, and ask if there is a police report number.
Move vehicles if you are authorized by authorities to do so. This can help prevent further back-ups and traffic jams and enables first responders to get to your location.
Write down any contact information of witnesses, cars involved, and anything you recall about the incident. It is typically easier to recall the specific details close to the event.